Excel 2010 - Vlookup question

chamdan

New member
Joined
Mar 22, 2013
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I have created a table as follow:

Cost Center Title Cost Center Code ........................................

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx 12345

I cannot get the value of the Cost center Title based on the cost center Code because the expected data is in column that is prior than the researched code. Why would Vlookup refuse to have a negative column number? or is there any other formula that I could use to get the title found at the left hand side of the code? When I change the position of the column of the cost center to be placed prior the Title then vlookup would work.

Regards,

Chuck
 

Pecoflyer

Admin Alumnus
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
1,769
Reaction score
0
Points
36
Location
Brussels Belgium
Excel Version(s)
2010 on Xubuntu - O365
Try an INDEX/MATCH combination instead of VLOOKUP
A left VLOOKUP is doable but we need to see the layout first ( in a sheet not pasted or a pic)
 

chamdan

New member
Joined
Mar 22, 2013
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Pecoflyer,

Thank you for replying. I was wondering how to attach a workbook in your web site. I could not find the icon to enclose my workbook. Would be able to point me to the right direction.

Regards,

Note: I hope that the file has been uploaded. Yes I checked and it worked.


Chuck
 

Attachments

  • CostCentreRep.xlsm
    23.2 KB · Views: 16
Last edited:

Pecoflyer

Admin Alumnus
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
1,769
Reaction score
0
Points
36
Location
Brussels Belgium
Excel Version(s)
2010 on Xubuntu - O365
Perhaps
Code:
 =VLOOKUP($E$4,CHOOSE({1,2},Table1[CC Nbr],Table1[CC Title]),2,0)
or
Code:
=INDEX(Table1[CC Title],MATCH('141000'!$E$4,Table1[CC Nbr],0))
 

chamdan

New member
Joined
Mar 22, 2013
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Solved - Excel 2010 - Vlookup question

Pecoflyer,

Excellent works fine! 2 Thumb Up!!!!!

Cheers!

Chuck
 

chamdan

New member
Joined
Mar 22, 2013
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Pecoflyer,

Can you please explain how the VLOOKUP using choose works? Choose{1,2}

Thanks
 
Top